Vegan

Zesty Lemon and Rosemary Couscous

Guys! I almost forgot to share this recipe completely!!! I was supposed to share it with you guys a few weeks ago but August was a hectic time in our place but I’m so glad September is here and that things have started to calm down. Anyways, remember when I said that lemon and rosemary are a magic combo? If not you can see it here in my Lemon and Rosemary Skillet Carrots recipe. Over the summer my husband and I decided to have a picnic and my go-to for a nice picnic is a sandwich and a simple side that is light and fresh. We had couscous on hand which is so quick and easy to make and since it was summer I decided to try my favorite combo, lemon and rosemary, for the couscous. I had  never used rosemary on couscous before and I am so glad I did.

Zesty Lemon and Rosemary Couscous - Simply Beautiful blog

It turned out wonderful so here on the blog it goes! I love using couscous as a side dish because it’s easy to make, healthy, delicious, and cruelty free. I love using it in salads to make them hearty and filling and it can be served served hot or cold. What’s nice about this particular recipe though is that it’s extremely versatile. You can keep all of the major flavoring components (veggie bullion cube, herbs, and garlic) but change out the veggies according to what’s in season.

For this recipe you’ll need:
2 cups couscous
1 veggie bullion cube
2 cups water
2 tsp fresh, chopped rosemary
2 tsp fresh, chopped oregano
2-3 cloves of garlic
Zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 bell peppers  of your choice (I used one red and one yellow)
salt and pepper to taste
A large bowl
Aluminum foil, plastic wrap, or a lid of some sort

NOTE: It is possible to cook the couscous in the same pan you boiled your water in however I find allowing it to sit in a separate bowl works better.

To Cook:
Place 2 cups of couscous into a large bowl and set aside with your whatever you’re using to cover it with nearby and ready to use. Place 2 cups of water in a pan with your bullion cube and bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove the water from the heat and pour into your bowl. Cover it let sit for 15 minutes. (if your plastic wrap or aluminum foil, poke a few holes in it with your fork to allow some of the moisture out). Once it’s cooked fluff with a fork and add in the rest of your ingredients. Cover back up your couscous and allow to sit for another 10 minutes. Fluff again with a fork and it’s ready to serve!

If you guys try the recipe let me know in the comments below!
Until next time

6 thoughts on “Zesty Lemon and Rosemary Couscous

Leave a Reply

