Vegan

Zucchini and Mushroom Summer Sandwich

This sandwich is currently a favorite at out house. It’s simple, delicious, and perfect for a summer picnic. My husband and I went into Stockholm last week and decided to pack a lunch and go to our favorite view-point of the City. My favorite part of Stockholm is that even though it’s a major city, there are still places that are quiet, peaceful, and feel like your away from the hustle and bustle. Anywho, the hubbs requested sandwiches and I wanted something that was light, fresh, and could be packed and wouldn’t get soggy immediately. So naturally I went for a toasted french baguette.

DSC_1441

My husband loves balsamic vinegar  drizzled on sandwiches so I thought why not marinade and pan fry thick, meaty slices of zucchini and mushrooms. That it would have all of the zingy zesty-ness of balsamic vinegar, but would also have a beautiful crust to it. It worked and it was soooo goood! This would be even better if it were grilled. Remind me why we haven’t bought one yet… cause I would love to grill more.

DSC_1446 (2)

 

DSC_1444

For the sandwich you’ll need:
1 french baguette
olive oil for drizzling
2 zucchini cut lengthwise into slices
1 cup of sliced button mushrooms (I would have used portobello but they were all out at the grocery store, sad face)
2-3 tomatoes cut into slices
spinach
fresh basil
Your favorite egg-less mayo
Spicy Mustard

Marinade for Zucchini and Mushrooms
2 cups Balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup soy sauce or Tamari (either works here)
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
Mix the balsamic and soy sauce together in a large bowl. Set your zucchini and mushrooms in the marinade, cover, and let sit in the fridge for at least one hour but overnight will give you the best flavor. Once you’ve let the veggies marinade, remove from the fridge and salt and pepper to taste. On high, with a non-stick pan, pan-fry the slices of zucchini one each side until tender. Don’t over cook. You want them to be firm but tender. After you’ve finished the zucchini, drain the mushrooms from the marinade and cook until tender as well. Set aside to cool.
Pre-heat oven to 375 F. Cut the baguette to desired length and slice it in half but not all the way through, so it lays open in one piece. Brush the inside lightly with olive oil for restaurant quality flavor and a nice crust. Set in the oven on a tray lined with aluminum foil or parchment paper, open side facing up. Toast until your bread turns to a light golden color.
Once your bread is ready it’s time to assemble your sandwich! I smeared one side with Mayo and spicy mustard, then filled it with my zucchini and mushrooms, fresh, thick slices of fresh tomato, spinach, and them top with a few leaves of fresh basil. I used about 4-5 for each one. Definitely don’t skip out on the fresh basil!!! It gives this sandwich so much flavor.

DSC_1443

If you’re wondering what I have on the side there, well you just have to wait until I finish my other recipe! However, I will tell you that it’s couscous and it’s super delicious. If you guys use the recipe let me know how it turns out! I would love to hear your thoughts and don’t be afraid to ask questions. Hope you all had a great weekend and are enjoying watching the Olympics as much as I am.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

