Vegan

Rosemmary & Thyme Skillet Carrots

Rosemary & Thyme Skillet Carrots - simply beautiful blog

This is a current favorite side dish in our house. It’s a wonderful summer dish that takes little effort but has lot’s of flavor. osemary, thyme, and lemon are a classic combo that complement one another so beautifully making this recipe a timeless treat. It was adapted from my Mom’s Thanksgiving Lemon and Sage Carrots which are to fricken die for! I don’t like using sage in my cooking but make an exception with this dish because it’s that good. I am not kidding, it’s one of those recipes she is passing to me and that I will pass on to my children. I planned on cooking that recipe the other night only to find there was no fresh sage at the grocery store but there was rosemary and thyme and I thought well, why not?!?!

Rosemary & Thyme Skillet Carrots 3- simply beautiful blog

I knew the result would be delicious because when are rosemary and thyme not delicious? If you’re new to cooking, trust me, you can’t go wrong pairing these two herbs. The execution is simple. sautéed garlic to season the pan and add flavor, searing the carrots to give it a nice crust, and then turning down the heat to become tender while absorbing the flavors of lemon juice and fresh herbs. I don’t recommend using dry herbs for this recipe. Dry herbs have a different flavor which I find a bit bland and lack brightness. Lemon is a very light and bright flavor and I feel the dried herbs wouldn’t compliment as well for lacking the brightness that you get from the fresh alternative.


Rosemary and Thyme Skillet Carrots

Prep: 15 min       Cooking time: 20-25 min

Ingredients:
2 cups fresh carrots peeled and cut into chunks (I like them to be about the size of my pinky finger)
Juice and zest of 1 lemon
1 tbsp of freshly chopped Rosemary and Thyme
4 cloves of minced garlic
Extra virgin olive oil, I use about 1 tbsp
Salt and pepper to taste
Optional ingredients: A splash of dry white wine or a white beer for added flavor

Directions:
Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add the oil and garlic to season the pan being careful to not burn the garlic. After about 2 minutes, add carrots and cook until browned.  Add more oil if necessary  because you don’t want to burn them. Once browned add lemon juice, (start with half if you don’t like a lot of lemon flavor and add more to get desired flavor), wine or beer if using,  rosemary, and thyme, remembering to scrape the browned bits that are sticking to the pan. Allow to cook for another minute before turning down to medium-low heat. Cook until tender. Sprinkle with lemon zest and a few springs of thyme and rosemary right before serving!


*This recipe is my own. Feel free to share, I only ask that you link it back to its original source here on Simply Beautiful blog  at jenlindvall.wordpress.com*

One thought on “Rosemmary & Thyme Skillet Carrots

Leave a Reply

